Graduate Students

Breadcrumb

UCR logo

Abbo, Tito

 

Email:       tito.abbo@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:    Amy Litt

Interests: 

 

Jared A.

Anderson-Huxley, Jared

 

Email:      jared.anderson@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:    Marko Spasojevic

Interests:  Community Ecology, Biogeography, and Global Change Biology

 

Arquilla

Arquilla, April

 

Email:       april.arquilla@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Wendy Saltzman

Interests:  Reproductive physiology, behavioral endocrinology, parental care, stress physiology

 

Berger

Berger, Ayala
 

Email:       ayala.berger@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:   Chris Clark

Interests: Ecoacoustics, bioacoustics, animal behavior and animal communication the effects of anthropogenic change on acoustics and animal communication

Tierney Bougie

Bougie, Tierney

 

Email:       tierney.bougie@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Marshal Hedin
Track:       Joint Doctoral Program in Evolutionary Biology (UCR/SDSU)

Interests: Introgression and hybrid zones in the Habronattus americanus group

 

Brady

Brady, Peggy

 

Email:      peggy.brady@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:  Mark Springer

Interests: Mammalian evolutionary biology using both biogeographical and phylogenetic approaches

 

UCR logo

Buck, Ryan

 

Email:      ryan.buck@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:   
Track:       Joint Doctoral Program in Evolutionary Biology (UCR/SDSU)
Interests:

Miranda R 2021

Buckley, Miranda

 

Email:       miranda.buckley@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Paul Nabity

Interests: The ecological roles and evolution of parasitic plants.

buckley

Cabrera, Haley

 

Email:       cabrera.haley@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

Cadney

Cadney, Marcell
 

Email:       marcell.cadney@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:    Ted Garland

Interests:  Early-life effects of diet and exercise, exercise physiology & behavior  

 

buckley

Cartee, Marissa

 

Email:       marissa.cartee@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

Castro

Castro, Alberto
 

Email:       alberto.castro@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:   Ted Garland

Interests:  Skeletal function and evolution

 

buckley

Caudle, Jackson

 

Email:       jackson.caudle@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

buckley

Christensen, Connor

 

Email:       connor.christensen@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

UCR logo

Cobos, Anthony
 

Email:       anthony.cobos@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:   Natalie Holt

Interests:  

 

Mitchell Coleman

Coleman, Mitchell

 

Email:       mitchell.coleman@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:    Louis Santiago

Interests: plant ecophysiology, comparative stress tolerance, halophytic shrubs, land management. 

Visit Mitchell's Research Website

Conway

Conway, Ryan
 

Email:        ryan.conway@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:     Kurt Anderson

Interests:  Freshwater ecology, invasive species, and invertebrates

 

Cosma

Cosma, Christopher
 

Email:       christopher.cosma@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:   Nicole Rafferty

Interests:  Community ecology, plant-pollinator interactions, global change

 

Yuwei Cui

Cui, Yuwei

Email:       yuwei.cui@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:   Len Nunney

Interests: Conservation genetics, population genetics, evolution

 

Danielian

Danielian, Serj
 

Email:       serj.danielian@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:   Helen Regan

Interests: Effects of different patterns of dispersal on metapopulation dynamics

 

Dunn

Dunn, Tamsen

 

Email:       tamsen.dunn@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

kedwards

Edwards, Kristin
 

Email:       kristin.edwards@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    David Reznick

Interests:  Bony fish evolution and diversification, particularly as seen through the lens of functional ecology and morphology

 

UCR logo

Firebaugh Ornelas, Ariana
 

Email:       ariana.firebaughornelas@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Marko Spasojevic  Loralee Larios

Interests:  

 

Sarah Gardner

Gardner, Sarah

Email:       sarah.gardner@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Polly Campbell

Interests:  

 

Matthew Green

Green, Matthew

Email:       mgree013@ucr.edu
Advisor:   Kurt Anderson

Interests:  Population and community dynamics of aquatic food webs, focusing on dispersal and species interactions with laboratory protist and aquatic communities in Sierra Nevada alpine lake-stream networks

 

Visit Matthew's Research Website

 

Hall

Hall, Elijah
 

Email:       elijah.hall@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Nicole Rafferty

Interests:  Community ecology, plant and pollinator ecology, plant phenology

 

Hanscom

Hanscom, Ryan

 

Email:       ryan.hanscom@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

Henderson

Henderson, Elisa

 

Email:       elisa.henderson@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:    Alan Brelsford

Interests:  population genomics, evolutionary genetics, speciation genomics, hummingbird hybridization

 

Amanda Herbert

Herbert, Amanda

 

Email:       amanda.herbert@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    David Reznick

Interests: Functional morphology and biomechanics of fish feeding and locomotion

buckley

Kashyap, Mayank

 

Email:       mayank.kashyap@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

Keeler

Keeler, Andrea

 

Email:        andrea.keeler@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:     Nicole Rafferty

Interests:  Community ecology, global change, plant biology, biogeochemistry, plant-soil microbe interactions

 

Kelly

Kelly, Sean

 

Email:       sean.kelly@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

UCR logo

Khan, Rahim

 

Email:       rahim.khan@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:   Ted Garlands

Interests: 

 

Su Yeon Kim

Kim, Su Yeon

 

Email:       suyeon.kim@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Helen Regan

Interests:

Kubica

Kubica, Sam
 

Email:       sam.kubica@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Mark Springer

Interests:  Evolution of the mammalian vertebral column.

 

German LR 2021

Lagunas-Robles, German
 

Email:       german.lagunasrobles@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Alan Brelsford

Interests:  Supergene evolution, population genomics, underlying genetics of split sex ratio and social structure in Formica ants.

 

buckley

Lay, Connor

 

Email:       connor.lay@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

Levell

Levell, Samantha
 

Email:       samantha.levell@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:   David Reznick

Interests: Life history evolution of reproductive methods, specifically matrotrophy (placental) and lecitrophy (yolk)

 

Visit Samantha's Research Website

buckley

Lin, Harrison

 

Email:       harrison.lin@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

AJ Lodger 2021

Lodge, AJ Krieger

they/them

Email:       alodge001@ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Marko Spasojevic

Interests: Alpine ecology, community ecology, biogeography, and global change biology.

Dylan Maag

Maag, Dylan

 

Email:      dylan.maag@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Alan Brelsford
Track:       Joint Doctoral Program in Evolutionary Biology (UCR/SDSU)
Interests:

Tesa Madsen-McQueen

Madsen-McQueen, Tesa

 

Email:       tesa.madsenmcqueen@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Marko Spasojevic

Interests:  

 

buckley

Major, Matthew

 

Email:       matthew.major@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

Erin McCann

McCann, Erin

 

Email:       erin.mccann@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Marko Spasojevic

Interests:  

McNamara

McNamara, Monica
 

Email:       monica.mcnamara@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:   Ted Garland

Interests: Exercise, gut microbiome, early-life effects

 

Allyn N

Nguyen, Allyn

 

Email:       allyn.nguyen001@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:    Natalie Holt

Interests: 

Nguyen

Nguyen, Catherine

 

Email:       thien.nguyen006@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Wendy Saltzman

Interests:   Animal behavior, parental care and parental characteristics, animal communication, anthropogenic effects

 

UCR logo

Ostovar, Talieh

 

Email:      talieh.ostovar@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:   
Track:       Joint Doctoral Program in Evolutionary Biology (UCR/SDSU)
Interests:

Ota

Ota, William

 

Email:       william.ota@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Kurt Anderson

Interests:  Urban Ecology, Climate Change, Animal Behavior, Science Advocacy, and Community Ecology

 

Marie P

Palanchon, Marie

 

Email:       marie.palanchon@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:    Jessica Purcell

Interests: 

buckley

Peterman, Spencer

 

Email:       spencer.peterman@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

Pierce

Pierce, Daniel

 

Email:       daniel.pierce@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Alan Brelsford

Interests:

 

rprather.jpg

Prather, Robert
 

Email:        robert.prather@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    David Reznick

Interests: Behavioral, aquatic, and evolutionary ecology, mating system evolution, life history evolution, conservation, sexual selection, dispersal, and frequency-dependent selection

 

Gary Qin

Qin, Gary

 

Email:       gary.qin@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:   Helen Regan

Interests: Freshwater ecology, anthropogenic effects, ecosystem services, environmental flow

Visit Gary's Research Website

Ramadoss

Ramadoss, Niveditha

 

Email:       niveditha.ramadoss@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

Ramirez

Ramirez, Juan
 

Email:        jp.ramirez10@uniandes.edu.co
Track:        Joint Doctoral Program in Evolutionary Biology  (UCR/SDSU)
Advisors:   Marko Spasojevic (UCR) / Tod Reeder (SDSU)

Interests:  

 

jrandall

Randall, Jason
 

Email:       jason.randall@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:   Mark Springer

Interests:  Molecular evolution and systematics in determining phylogenetic relationships

 

Remington

Remington, Michael

 

Email:       michael.remington@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

Robinett

Robinett, Nathanael
 

Email:       nathanael.robinett@email.ucr.edu 
Track:       Joint Doctoral Program in Evolutionary Biology (UCR/SDSU)
Advisors:  Richard Cardullo (UCR) / Forest Rowher (SDSU)

Interests:  Genes, behavior, and evolution

 

Annika Rose Person

Rose-Person, Annika

 

Email:       annika.roseperson@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Nicole Rafferty

Interests:  

 

Schwartz

Schwartz, Nicole

 

Email:       nicole.schwartz@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:    Ted Garland 

Interests:  Evolutionary physiology and anatomy of exercise behavior

 

buckley

Shirazi, Soroush

 

Email:       soroush.shirazi@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

Phillip Sternes

Sternes, Phillip

 

Email:      phillip.sternes@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Tim Higham

Interests:

Thai

Thai, Kevin

 

Email:      kevin.thai001@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:   Leonard Nunney

Interests:

Tofflemire

Tofflemire, Michael

 

Email:       michael.tofflemire@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    

Interests: 

Marina Vollin

Vollin, Marina

 

Email:       marina.vollin@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Tim Higham

Interests:

Whitehead Image

Whitehead, Natalie

 

Email:       natalie.whitehead@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:   Ted Garland

Interests: Animal Behavior, Behavioral Evolution, Ecology, Epigenetic Inheritance  

Woodie

Woodie, Clara

she/her/hers

Email:       clara.woodie@email.ucr.edu 
Advisor:    Kurt Anderson

Interests: Population dynamics, food web theory, and spatial ecology.

 

Let us help you with your search