Graduate Students

Breadcrumb
UCR logo
Abbo, Tito

tito.abbo@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorAmy Litt

Interests: TBA

Profile Pic
Alam, Zul

zul.alam@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorAlan Brelsford

Interests: TBA

Arquilla
Arquilla, April

april.arquilla@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorWendy Saltzman

Interests: Reproductive physiology, behavioral endocrinology, parental care, stress physiology

 

Profile Pic
Ashby, Mia

mia.ashby@email.ucr.edu
Advisor: Kurt Anderson

Interests: Ecology

Erik Axlid
Axlid, Erik

eaxli001@ucr.edu
Advisor: Dr. Tim Higham

Interests: Fish biomechanics and functional morphology.

 

Profile Pic

 

Base, Juliana

juliana.base@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:  Ted Garland

Interests: Evolutionary physiology and behavior

Berger
Berger, Ayala

ayala.berger@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorChris Clark

Interests: Ecoacoustics, bioacoustics, animal behavior and animal communication the effects of anthropogenic change on acoustics and animal communication

Miranda R 2021
Buckley, Miranda

miranda.buckley@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorPaul Nabity

Interests: The ecological roles and evolution of parasitic plants.

 

Profile Pic
Burr, Audrey

audrey.burr@email.ucr.edu
Advisor:  Joel L Sachs

Interests: TBA

Cabrera
Cabrera, Haley

haley.cabrera@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTed Garland 

Interests: Exercise physiology, evolutionary physiology

Cartee, Marissa Profile
Cartee, Marissa

marissa.cartee@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorDavid Reznick

Interests: I am interested in the evolution of Alternative Reproductive Tactics (ARTs) in the family of fish, Poeciliidae.

buckley
Caudle, Jackson

jackson.caudle@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorMark S. Springer

Interests: TBA

Soumyadeep Chatterjee
Chatterjee, Soumyadeep

schat030@ucr.edu
Advisor: Christopher Clark
Advisor: Alan Brelsford

Interests: Evolution of vision and color in hummingbirds

UCR logo
Cobos, Anthony

anthony.cobos@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorNatalie Holt

Interests: TBA

Mitchell Coleman
Coleman, Mitchell

mitchell.coleman@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorLouis Santiago

Interests: plant ecophysiology, comparative stress tolerance, halophytic shrubs, land management

Mitchell's Research Website

Conway
Conway, Ryan

ryan.conway@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorKurt Anderson

Interests: Freshwater ecology, invasive species, and invertebrates

Cosma, Christopher Profile
Cosma, Christopher

christopher.cosma@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorNicole Rafferty

Interests: Plant-pollinator interactions, climate change, community ecology, conservation

Research Website: The Butterfly Net: Lepidoptera Conservation Tool (R Shiny App)

UCR logo
Firebaugh Ornelas, Ariana

afire001@ucr.edu
AdvisorMarko Spasojevic
AdvisorLoralee Larios

Interests: TBA

Gangothri
Gangothri, Sivaraj

sgang016@ucr.edu
Advisor: Kate Ostevik

Interests: Hybridization and speciation, plant-pollinator interactions, Floral traits, Plant ecology

Sarah Gardner
Gardner, Sarah

sarah.gardner@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorPolly Campbell

Interests: Behavioral ecology, parental care, microbiome, reproductive physiology 

Ria Ghosh
Ghosh, Ria

rghos012@ucr.edu
Advisor: Kurt Anderson

Interests: Impacts of the anthropogenic activities in the Santa Ana River Ecosystem

Nicolas Graver
Graver, Nicolas

nicolas.graver@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorHelen Regan

Interests: Plant community ecology, aridlands fire ecology/management, climate impacts to desert trees, population modeling

 

Profile Pic
Guenther, Joseph

joseph.guenther@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorWendy Saltzman

Interests: TBA

Hall
Hall, Elijah

elijah.hall@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorNicole Rafferty

Interests: Community ecology, plant and pollinator ecology, plant phenology

Amanda Herbert
Herbert, Amanda

amanda.herbert@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorDavid Reznick

Interests: Functional morphology and biomechanics of fish feeding and locomotion

Tao Hernandez Arellano
Hernandez Arellano, Tao

thern049@ucr.edu
AdvisorDavid Reznick

Interests: Taxonomy, Biogeography, Evolution and ecology of fishes.

 

C Jiang EEOB
Jiang, Chenkun

chenkun.jiang@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTed Garland

Interests: Evolutionary physiology and behavior

Elena Kaminskaia
Kaminskaia, Elena

elena.kaminskaia@email.ucr.edu
Advisor: Nicole Rafferty

Interests: Pollination ecology, climate change, conservation.

buckley
Kashyap, Mayank

mayank.kashyap@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorDavid Reznick

Interests: TBA

Rahim Khan Profile
Khan, Rahim

rahim.khan@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTed Garland

Interests: Evolutionary physiology and animal behavior 

Su Yeon Kim
Kim, Su Yeon

suyeon.kim@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorHelen Regan

Interests: TBA

 

Profile Pic
Knoles, Emma

emma.knoles@email.ucr.edu


AdvisorPolly Campbell

Interests: TBA

Kubica
Kubica, Sam

sam.kubica@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorMark Springer

Interests: Evolution of the mammalian vertebral column.

German LR 2021
Lagunas-Robles, German

german.lagunasrobles@email.ucr.edu
Advisor: Alan Brelsford

Interests: Supergene evolution, population genomics, underlying genetics of split sex ratio and social structure in Formica ants.

William Lampman
Lampman, William-Cael

alamp011@ucr.edu
Advisor: Theodore Garland Jr.
Interests: I am interested in the evolution of behavior and personality in social mammalian species! Currently, I study the behavioral profile of High Runner mice selectively bred for voluntary wheel running.

Lay Conner Profile
Lay, Conner

connor.lay@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorPaul Nabity

Interests: I am interested in how plants interact with their abiotic and biotic environments. Specifically hoping to better understand how environmental changes such as habitat fragmentation and climate variation contribute to genetic diversity‚Äč and adaptation.

buckley
Lin, Harrison

harrison.lin@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorPolly Campbell

Interests: TBA

S Louden EEOB
Louden, Sam

sloud003@ucr.edu
Advisor: Loralee Larios

Interests: Community ecology, restoration ecology, plant community assembly, seed predators, synzoochory

Gina Lucas
Lucas, Gina

gluca001@ucr.edu
Advisor: Kieran Samuk

Interests: Evolution of recombination rate and chromosomal inversions.

Tesa Profile
Madsen-McQueen, Tesa

tesa.madsenmcqueen@email.ucr.edu
Advisor: Marko Spasojevic

Interests: plant community ecology, biogeography, global change biology

buckley
Major, Matthew

matthew.major@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorJanet Franklin

Interests: TBA

Erin McCann
McCann, Erin

erin.mccann@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorMarko Spasojevic

Interests: TBA

Rajesh Neupane
Neupane, Rajesh

rajesh.neupane@email.ucr.edu
Advisor: Kate Ostevik

Interests: Reproductive barrier's affect on species emergence and extinction

Allyn N
Nguyen, Allyn

allyn.nguyen001@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorNatalie Holt

Interests: TBA

 

Profile Pic
Nguyen, Brittney

brittney.nguyen@email.ucr.edu
Advisor: Lucy Delaney

Interests: TBA

Nguyen
Nguyen, Catherine

thien.nguyen006@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorWendy Saltzman

Interests: Animal behavior, parental care and parental characteristics, animal communication, anthropogenic effects

Ota Profile
Ota, William

william.ota@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorKurt Anderson

Interests: William studies how urbanization and wastewater are impacting freshwater ecosystems, communities, and trophic structure. He uses the Santa Ana River as a model in Riverside and San Bernardino Counties.

Marie P
Palanchon, Marie

marie.palanchon@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorJessica Purcell

Interests: TBA

Peterman Profile
Peterman, Spencer

spencer.peterman@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorJoel L Sachs

Interests: Evolutionary ecology, symbiosis, plant-microbe interactions

Pierce
Pierce, Daniel

daniel.pierce@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorAlan Brelsford

Interests: TBA

 

Profile Pic
Plaza, Mikhail

mikhail.plaza@email.ucr.edu
 

AdvisorKieran Samuk

Interests: TBA

Dirk Plunkett
Plunkett, Dirk

dplun001@ucr.edu
AdvisorLoralee Larios

Interests: Restoration ecology, community ecology, mycorrhizal fungi, soil legacies, plant fungi mutualisms

Gary Qin
Qin, Gary

gary.qin@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorHelen Regan

Interests: Freshwater ecology, anthropogenic effects, ecosystem services, environmental flow

Gary's Research Website

jrandall
Randall, Jason

jason.randall@email.ucr.edu 
AdvisorMark Springer

Interests:  Molecular evolution and systematics in determining phylogenetic relationships

Annika Rose Person
Rose-Person, Annika

annika.roseperson@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorNicole Rafferty

Interests: TBA

 

Seth Profile
Shirazi, Seth

soroush.shirazi@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTim Higham

Interests: Evolutionary biomechanics, form & function, and genetics.

Seth's Research Website

Brennan Silva
Silva, Brennan

bsilv008@ucr.edu
Advisor: Kate Ostevik

Interests: Homology, Chromosome Duplications, Speciation, the Development of Reproductive Barriers

Phillip Sternes

Sternes, Phillip

phillip.sternes@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTim Higham

Interests: TBA

Profile Pic
Sumarli, Alexandra

alexandra.sumarli@email.ucr.edu
Advisor: Kieran Samuk

Interests: TBA

Thai Profile
Thai, Kevin

kevin.thai001@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorLeonard Nunney

Interests: Evolution of cancer suppression.

Mary Tucker
Tucker, Mary

mtuck015@ucr.edu


AdvisorChristopher Clark

Interests: TBA

Marina Vollin
Vollin, Marina

marina.vollin@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTim Higham

Interests: TBA

Profile Pic
Whitacre, Tyler

tyler.whitacre@email.ucr.edu
Advisor: Natalie Holt

Interests: TBA

Whitehead Image
Whitehead, Natalie

natalie.whitehead@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorTed Garland

Interests: Animal Behavior, Behavioral Evolution, Ecology, Epigenetic Inheritance  

Sierra Winter
Winter, Sierra

swint010@ucr.edu
Advisor: Christopher Clark

Interests: Hummingbird conservation ecology studying historical versus present ranges.

Jenny Wong
Wong, Jenny

j.wong@email.ucr.edu
Advisor: Christopher Clark  
Advisor: Alan Brelsford 

Interests: Evolutionary genomics and Phylogenetics of birds.

Jenny's Research Website

Clara Woodie
Woodie, Clara

she/her/hers

clara.woodie@email.ucr.edu
AdvisorKurt Anderson

Interests: Population dynamics, Food web theory, Spatial ecology, Intraguild predation, Protist microcosms, Mathematical modeling.

Clara's Research Website

Tree of Life image
Wu, Joseph

joseph.wu001@email.ucr.edu


AdvisorTim Higham

Interests: Biomechanics and functional morphology

Let us help you with your search